Working out: making it stick

Every year, you put it down on your to do list. Go to the gym, workout more, go to more spinning classes, start running etc and we get excited and we see all the people in the gym. But as the weeks go by, we see less and less people going. The once exceptionally busy gym becomes quiet again, the early rise and grind becomes sleep and snooze. That motivation disappears and once again you are back to square one. No change.

So how to make it stick. How are you going to keep this new year’s resolution when you are tired and its raining and the last thing you want to do is go for a run or go to the gym.

Well, there are many ways, but in this blog post, I am going to focus on one of many. And that is develop a love for sport. Crazy I know. But this is all linked into the push and pull of motivation. When you are trying to muster up the motivation to go for a run, instead of thinking ‘I have to go for a run otherwise I am never going to lose this weight and I am going to be fat forever’ think ‘I want to go for a run because I love the feeling of the wind in my hair, I love the feeling of being free as I run, I love the feeling of my legs working to carry me, I love the feeling of the release of the endorphins (those happy hormone).’

This change in mindset will not only (a) associate positive feelings towards working out but will also (b) create a sustainable change by making sport an enjoyable thing. Why the latter will help is as follows, if your sole source of motivation for working out is ‘oh I look fat and terrible and I need to get in shape’, what is going to happen when you do get in shape? What is your motivation going to be then. This is why so many people regain all the weight they have lost. Once you have your dream body, the motivation to work out is no longer there. But, if you create other reasons for working out that is not relating to your physical appearance, you will find that exercise no longer becomes a chore, but something enjoyable.

 

So in a sentence: Have positive and sustainable reasons for working out such as the release of endorphins rather than negative and unsuitable reasons such as losing weight. 

1 thought on “Working out: making it stick”

  1. In December you see less people than in Summer and in January the gym is always the fullest. Anyway I run on a daily basis. Because I still can😃 and I love it!

    Like

Leave a Reply

