3 ways to get motivated to achieve your goals

Motivation is what gets us going in the morning. Motivation is what starts us on the path to our goals. In short motivation can be a very powerful tool to have in order to get started on that goal, improve on that goal and sustain your efforts to reach that goal.

Below are 3 ways to get motivated

  1. Write a vision for yourself

Take a piece of paper and a pen and start writing about how you want your life to look like a year from now. Try to associate as many feelings and engage as many senses as possible in this vision

Here is an excerpt out of my vision:

I want to be more open-minded and expand my interests. I want to read more, see more, experience more, feel more and do more. I want to feel as though I am alive not that I am just living.

Having a vision serves two purposes:

(a) It can provide an idea of what goals you want to achieve

(b) You can reread it and remember why you have the goals you have.

Part A I will get back to later when I write a goal on writing a vision.

Part B is about the motivation. I read this above and it reminds me why I want to read every night, (and not just watch Netflix), or why I want to go to more museums (and not just watch Netflix) or why I want to meet up with acquaintances (and again not just watch Netflix).

So as you can see, having a vision written down that you can read every day is a powerful way of increasing your motivation.

2. Write down your main three goals daily

I am a big believer in goal setting. Not only do I get very excited the first of January, but I get excited the first of every month, as I get to sit down and reevaluate my goals. However, if you do not reflect often enough on your goals, the desire to pursue them can be forgotten.

Therefore, I suggest every day, jotting down quickly your three main goals. This will start the wheels in your mind turning allowing you to see the steps that need to be taken to achieve these goals.

For example, my goals today are:

1. Take concrete steps towards side-hustle

2. Have fun/new experiences

3. Workout more often

Having this written down, both subconsciously and consciously, I plan to achieve these goals. For example:

1. Take concrete steps towards side-hustle: Write blog post and read a chapter of book on self-development

2. Have fun/new experiences: Going out tonight on pub-crawl with new friends

3. Workout more often: Going to the gym or go spinning

Just by writing down these goals, I have already structured my day to achieve these goals.

3. Listen to motivational Youtube videos

I think YouTube is one of the best sources for self-development and motivation. There is a niche area on Youtube of motivational videos set to videos. Yes. It is cringy. I am not going to lie, but it is incredible the effect this can have on your daily life simply by having this in the background when you are getting ready in the morning or listening it on your commute to work/university/school etc.

Give this video a go and listen to it while you get ready. 35 minutes of motivation.

 

 

Try these three strategies and see your life transform.

 

 

 

1 thought on “3 ways to get motivated to achieve your goals”

Leave a Reply

